The Observer - a photo journal

Shark Toof | 2009-08-06 |

I�ll forever be amazed at how people try to find meaning in the meaningless. Every religion is built upon the idea of control and finding meaning in the meaningless. I get it, nobody wants to go through life knowing that their life is utterly devoid of any higher meaning. That�s not to say that life is meaningless, but surly it has no divine meaning attached to it, just because we say so. I think it�s wrong to divert so much meaning to an afterlife that most likely doesn�t exist, because it invites the idea that we�ll have another chance to do what we didn�t do this time around. I�m pretty sure that�s not going to happen, but even if it might, why not experience it now? Why wait around till you�re confined to a cloud? So, big deal, there�s no higher purpose... who cares? The meaning we take out of life is what we put into it. Hoping to please some imaginary bearded man in the �sky� isn�t going to do you any good, I�ll tell you that. It certainly hasn�t done me any good. Not that I tried very hard though.

Vista Drive

previous | next | older | current | diaryland

 

free stats